The information is garbage - it's no longer referenced by the current state of the repository. "git gc" just delays collection in order to give users an opportunity to restore recently-unreferenced commits they decide they wanted after all. Also, the man page for "git gc" on my system describes exactly how long commits are kept around after they're no longer referenced, what this depends on, and how to change the default settings.